EHS Senior Receives First Jeff Sauer Award

Honor Given to Shane Ryan
Shane RyanSenior hockey player Shane Ryan was the first recipient of the Coach Sauer Award, an honor presented during the Wisconsin High School Coaches Association dinner.

This award is given to a student who shows a strong dedication to community service--Ryan completed 230 hours of volunteering during his high school years. Ryan also started a fundraiser that has given $10,000 for families for baseball equipment since its inception.

This is the first annual award of this type given. It is named after well-known University of Wisconsin coach, Jeff Sauer. A plaque will be on display at Edgewood later this year.